Major Wine Winner from Trader Joe’s

First of all, I prefer whites over reds. But, I just drank a wonderful red and it only cost $9. I looked it up on the Net so I can tell you what all those words on the label mean.

It is a Clos Des Chatains (Designation), Vieilles Vignes (Old Vines), Saumur-Champigny (Appellation), Domaine de Nerleux (Producer), Regis Neau (Vineyard). (Those French wine people don’t make it easy!) It’s a 2005 Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley. It is imported by Robert Chadderdon Selections, NY, NY. It comes in a very fancy bottle with a crest and crown carved right into the glass bottle. All for $9.

And I love, love, loved it! It is what Winedog 1 and I like to call a Wowie (delicious and inexpensive)! And here is a photo of another Wowie.

A fine winedog relaxing on a Friday night!

This is why I probably loved it SO much. First of all, it is from the Loire Valley and I seem to be partial to wines from that region (especially Sancerre!) According to the winedoctor.com web site, the oldest wines at this vineyard were planted in 1933 and the terroir is largely limestone. I think I have an affinity for old vines and limestone.

Also, I drank it with some lamb that I had marinated in red wine and rice with root vegetables.  A fairly simple dinner – but sometimes the right pairing elevates the whole experience.

I couldn’t find any reviews for this vintage, but reviews for all aother vintages are very favorable, especially the 2008 and 2009 which are priced in the $20-30 range.

I am going to try to get some more at Trader Joe’s and try decanting it to see if it gets even better.

About winedog2

likes wine
This entry was posted in Local Wine Store Offerings, Wowies! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

